Maybe Tomorrow Blog #2: Five Questions with Michael Wolfe

18 03 2011

 

Hey everyone. I’m back with the second blog of the movie, “Maybe Tomorrow.” Last week, we shot the last scenes in Newark and NYC and wrapped everything up on Sunday. With the movie now about to enter the next stage of production, I now have the time to ask people about working on this project. This week, I had director/actor Michael Wolfe (www.michaelwolfe.biz) answer a few questions about Maybe Tomorrow and what it was like to be a director for the first time. And here’s what he had to say:

It was a great learning experience for Michael Wolfe and crew as "Maybe Tomorrow" wrapped up on Sunday Night. (Photo taken by Sarah Flanagan)

How does it feel to be a director for the very first time?

“Pretty good man. It’s what I’ve always wanted to do so finally getting the chance to do it was everything I hoped it would be and more. Hopefully I’ll get a chance to do it again…and again…and again.”

This is what a beach house in Southampton looks like during the winter. (Photo taken by Sarah Flanagan)

We shot in multiple locations for this movie (Beach House and Rehab Center in Southampton, Hotels in NYC, and a Courthouse in Newark). Out of all of them, what was your favorite location?

“Whoa, that’s a tough one. The beach house was amazing and I really enjoyed staying there by myself every night. It was like “The Shining” except I had a jacuzzi and a fridge full of beer! The courthouse was also great. Just having that entire building to yourself every evening was incredible, it was so grandiose. But my favorite “location” was probably the aerial shots we got in the helicopter.”

What did you think of the other actors that were involved in your project?

“They were phenomenal. With the exception of Chris Shyer, I’ve known them all for years. It’s such a joy to work with your friends, especially if they are talented. And they all work very hard so I would love for this film to succeed if for no other reason than to give their careers a little leg up. They deserve it.”

If you had a chance to do the shoot all over again, would there be anything you would do differently?

“I’d have twice the budget and twice the time! And I would hire a stunt double to snort Vitamin B-12 for me.”

What was the funniest moment from the whole shoot?

“Watching dailies of my sex scene. Carolina, my co-star, is sexy as hell but watching myself…I laughed so hard I almost threw up on my Second AC.

Associate Producer Robert Nicotra (Photo taken by Sarah Flanagan)

 

So for the next few weeks, I’ll have cast and crew members talk about the experience of working on “Maybe Tomorrow.” If you want to learn more about Michael Wolfe, you can go to his website, which is www.michaelwolfe.biz. So until next time, enjoy the weekend! And one last note, the NYC Half Marathon will be this Sunday. Be sure to be there to cheer on the runners!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

