Photography Session: Phan Media Host Auditions

28 04 2014
Shawn Strong

Phan Media Creator, Shawn Strong

Hey what’s up everyone? Welcome to another installment of my blog. Today, I want to showcase another one of my photography sessions as I continue to improve on my camera skills. This past weekend, I took some photos and shot a little video footage at the host auditions for the upcoming web series, Phan Media.

woman 2

What I did for this occasion was use the 50mm f/1.8 lens. I tried using my zoom lens for more versatility, but because the lowest aperture I can set it to is 5.6, I decided to scrap the idea. The area where we did the auditions was ok lighting wise. Natural light was wonderful as the sun wasn’t too bright and it provided a decent key light. Settings wise, I mainly adjusted the shutter speed and ISO depending on where I was positioned. For the most part, I shot at a shutter speed of 1/250 and kept the ISO between 200 – 320.

When it came to editing the photos, I decided to put all the photos in black & white. While doing a few tweaks in vibrance and exposure, I felt that leaving the photos in color would not be as intriguing as it would be in black & white. So after the edits, I’m satisfied with how they came out.

Christian Medina

Christian Medina

After having a handful of people come by to audition, the event turned out well. Once videos are posted up, people can vote for who they want to be the host of the web series. For those who don’t know, Phan Media is a upcoming Creative Arts Variety Show that focuses on talented individuals in the Hudson Valley. Whether it’s music, art, dance, or any forms of creativity, this show will cover it. So be sure to check out the facebook page and be on the lookout for when it’s time to vote!

 

Links:

Phan Media Facebook Page

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

