Photography Session: The Great Race

24 06 2014

Hey what’s up everyone? Welcome to another installment of my photography session. This past Sunday, participants of the 2014 Great Race reached their pit stop at Shadows on the Hudson in Poughkeepsie, NY. The event is a cross country race that started in Maine and will finish in Florida. It’s more of a precision race than a competitive one as the objective is to maintain a certain speed and follow objectives.

One of the many classic cars showcased.

One of the many classic cars showcased.

While I don’t consider myself to be a car person, I was amazed at the amount of vintage vehicles that were driven. I managed to get a good amount of photos as the venue was packed with spectators. The event went on till 9pm but I left at around 7.

pic 2

For this photo, I originally turned the color temperature all the way tungsten just to see how it would look. In my opinion, the result is breathtaking.

For this event, I used the 18-135mm ef lens the entire time. Because the lighting was different in every area that I shot, constantly adjusting the aperture was a nuisance. I stayed within f/6.3 – f/9, had the shutter speed at 1/250 since I was handheld, and kept ISO at 100.

pic 15

During the post production phase, I toyed with the color temperature a little bit. On a couple photos, I turned the photo all the way tungsten to see how it would look. The steering wheel is the only one that came out great using that tactic. On the other pics, I dialed back a little bit on the color temperature and made slight tweaks on contrast, saturation, and vibrance.

More Photos on my tumblr page if you click on this sentence.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

