New Video for Couture Modeling

11 08 2014

Hey what’s up? Welcome to another installment of my blog. If you’ve been following, you know that I’ve been working on a video for Couture Modeling. Today, I have great news as the video has now been released to youtube!

Shot at one of the beaches near nyc, I recorded behind the scenes footage of the photo shoot taking place. Going off what I read online along with advice given to me by a few cinematographers, I made some tweaks with the camera before shooting. I turned sharpness and contrast completely off and slightly turned down the saturation. Doing that along with having almost two hours worth of footage, I had plenty to work with when it came to post production phase.

This is a unedited video still of Dana.

This is a unedited video still of Dana.

When putting the video together, I originally had it at around 2 minutes. But after viewing it a few times, I felt 2 minutes may be bit long and viewers would get bored with it after a while. So I cut it down to less than a minute and also had to make hard choices about which clips to use. Once I got over that hurdle, I then went into the tweaking phase.

This is video still of dana after tweaking color correction, contrast, and sharpness.

This is video still of dana after tweaking color correction, contrast, and sharpness.

Because I set the color temperature the way I wanted it before shooting, color correction wasn’t too much. I slightly bumped up the saturation and didn’t really touch anything else. Depending on each clip, I made different tweaks to contrast. For sharpness, I used the unsharp mask. I watched a few videos on youtube for reference points on the settings and worked my way from there.  As you see from the two photos above, the before and after is very telling.

What a view!

What a view!

This is the first video where I did more than just put clips together. I’m happy with amount of work I put into this video. I was fortunate that The Doppelgangaz gave me permission to use one of their tracks for music. So I thank them along with thanking Lendell Simmons and models of Couture Modeling for bringing me along and letting me shoot the footage used.

Links

Couture Modeling

Doppelgangaz Facebook

Doppelgangaz Twitter

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

