Photography Session: Ben, Marla, and Alexis Jones

7 12 2014

What’s up everyone? Welcome to the first post of December. With things starting to slow down with the nearing holidays, finding work and staying busy tends to increase in difficulty. But along with that, it also gives me more time to blog, so I guess that’s not a bad thing. Today is another edition of the photography session. This past Friday,  I shot a handful of models at Couture Modeling and a good number of them came out well.

 

Model: Ben Franz

Model: Ben Franz

In the above shot, Benjamin is by one of the old buildings outside of the studio. With the overcast weather, the lighting in this shot is all natural with no equipment other than my camera. We first shot under a nearby alleyway and for that location, I shot at f/5.6 with shutter speed at 1/125 and ISO at 500. We took some quick shots at the building on the way back to the studio and because I rushed, I didn’t tweak my settings to compensate for the change of location. So in post, the major tweaks were towards lowering the amount of exposure and adjusting the contrast.

Model: Alexis Jones

Model: Alexis Jones

Out of the three photos today, this one is my favorite. This was shot in-studio as Alexis was showcasing hiphop inspired clothing. During the series of shots, we did some with her sitting on the ground. After a couple shots, I originally thought of tweaking the lighting but I started to like the dim look as it gave everything a different feel. For this, I shot at f/5.6 with shutter speed at 1/125 and ISO at 250. And post-production wise, I only brightened the pic a tad bit and nothing else.

Model: Marla

Model: Marla

And in the last photo, I shot marla in studio as well. Settings wise, I shot this one at f/8 with shutter speed at 1/125 and ISO at 200. And like alexis’ photo, little post production work was done.

And before I go, here’s a behind the scenes video of Friday’s shoot that was shot and edited by Shimmy Chase Banks. If you watch carefully, the back of my head makes a guest appearance. So that’s it for today. Be sure to check out the following links below and until next time, cya!

Links

Couture Modeling

Alexis Jones Facebook Page

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

